top of page

Headed to Alaska (2019)

It's that time of the year again!

Today I'm heading to Alaska to do my fall guiding season and this one's a doozy. All of August I will be sheep hunting, September moose, October brown bear, and then back down to Montana for elk and mule deer. I won't get done guiding until the 1st of December and then all of December and into the middle of January I’ll busy seen family. That means I won't have much time to sit down at my computer and write. But I’ll be using that time to plan, outline, and working on more world building.

Joshua in New Zealand

It is always a busy time of the year for me and when I make the big bucks that allow me to pretty much write full-time in the off-season for those seven months. I'm seriously blessed to have a job and a lifestyle that allows me to work hard for a few months and then pursue my other passion and make a little extra income with writing for the rest of the year. I'm also blessed with having an awesome wife and family that I get to do this all with that support me and my endeavors.

This year I'm going to try something new. I’m going to be doing a little (or more) writing while traveling and guiding. Before it's been really hard for me to get in the mindset and do small sprints for only a few minutes as I feel I need at least a half hour to sit down and really get in it. That has worked well in the past, but I've been noticing that if I can get in the mindset I can get quite a bit of work done in the small moments. Plus with this fantasy series, it’s a lot more natural to me than zombies. Which means it's going to be a lot easier for me to get in and out of the mindset and write these stories as I've had in my head for almost 10 years.

So with this season in Alaska, I'm going to write, even if it's just a little bit, in my down time. Of which I sometimes have only a little and other times I have days. Hopefully, I'll come back after this fall with at least some of my fantasy story written. If not, I'll for sure come back with money that'll be able to support me in the coming year and outlines for the books!

That's all for me! I'll “officially” see you guys in December, even though you’ll hear from me through automated emails and blogs before then.

Have a great rest of your fall and God bless!

From my desk to yours,

Joshua C. Chadd

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me!
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
RSS Feed
bottom of page