top of page

A Glimpse Into Torrea

If you've been keeping up with my blog, you would’ve noticed that the last one was about world-building. This one will be right along the same vein. I wanted to give you a brief preliminary glimpse into my fantasy world, Torrea. So buckle up because here we go.

Torrea is a fantasy world full of magic, mystical creatures, otherworldly races, adventure, romance, action, and so much more! This is a world fans of D&D and The Lord of the Rings will find a similar, yet slight different, landscape before them.

If you are familiar with a typical fantasy world full of all the tropes of elves, dwarves, and dragons. You're going to see that Torrea feels almost like coming home to those typical fantasy worlds, but it'll be a home that a stranger came into and rearranged and now you like that home even better than before. Okay, so that wasn't the best metaphor because I wouldn't like it if somebody came into my house and rearranged it, so I assume you're wouldn’t like that either, but you get my point.

With my world, I didn't want to reinvent the wheel, I just wanted to take the wheel and tweak it in my own way. You’ll see new creatures, different magic, and some fresh changes to your main races like elves and dwarves. I did that because I didn't want to spend decades creating this unique and mind blowing world that you get so distracted with the world that you don't remember the story or the characters. I like to write authentic character-driven stories, and that will always be my first priority in writing—storytelling. With that I didn't feel I needed this crazy unique world where all people are cat-trees and they worship the carpet god Ragga Ragga. I just wanted a fantasy world that felt familiar, but had enough changes, interesting characters and slightly different magic classes that it felt like… well, coming home.

Early Torrea Map

This is the original map for Torrea created 10 years ago, a little rough I know, but it was enough at the time!

As I said, there’ll be elves and dwarves, and with them, some of the other tropes you're familiar with. Take for example the dwarven and elven friendly, and sometimes not so friendly, rivalry that you've grown to know and love. There's going to be some distinct reasons why they have that rivalry. Some have been addressed in other works but in mine I really dive into that to figure out why they don't get along well, and the answer I've come up with has excited me, so hopefully you will enjoy it as well.

There will also be lots of magic! The entire world has magic in everything from the stones and soil, to the creatures and even the air itself. Over 5,000 years ago there was a cataclysmic event called the Upheaval, which dispersed magic all over the world. As you can imagine magic is going to play a huge role in my stories. With that I wanted to create magic that was both familiar and also different.

I really think that once you get to read the stories, you're going to be so caught up in them that the world around them will just be the setting. On the same coin, if you’re a fan of detailed worlds and cultures, you’ll also find be happy because I've put a lot of work into it and I want to be able to share glimpses with you in the stories.

Make sure to stay tuned in the coming months as I highlight specific parts of this world, like races, magic classes, places, etc. in my upcoming blog series: Torrea Spotlights!

From my desk to you,

Joshua C. Chadd

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me!
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
RSS Feed
bottom of page